Dumbo Art

My office is very close to a well known mural in Dumbo, Brooklyn. It used to look like this:

dumbomural

ArtInfo.com actually puts this area in the “20 best spots to see street art in NYC”.

It’s not a particularly scenic building. It’s just a garage. My office actually looks out on the “No Parking 24|7” part.

dtg_historicparking_2013_02_15_bk02_z

I walk past the mural every day (well, most days I scooter). Imagine my surprise when I saw this:

bright

(my office window is second floor, one to the left of the “b”)

No one was happy about it. Though it turns out that “bright” is a commentary on the mural itself. The garage is going to be demolished to make modern housing, so this is a brief final tribute to the mural.

Sad to see the mural go. And I’m not looking forward to construction right outside my window…

3 Responses to Dumbo Art

  1. […] blue wall used to be a big mural, as pictured here (they painted it blue after the […]

  2. […] mentioned in an earlier post that the building across from my office window is being demolished to put up high end condos. Since […]

  3. […] posted a few times about the garage across from my office that got knocked down and the construction currently going on. I now know that there will be 5 […]

Leave a Reply

