Music Can Be Timeless

I walked into our apartment tonight to hear my girls listening to the Counting Crows version of “Big Yellow Taxi”.

I’m the son of a liberal Protestant minister. I was born in the 60’s. You can make many assumptions based on those facts and they are probably all true. One of which is that I grew up on folk music. I grew up on the music of Pete Seeger, Arlo Guthrie (Woody also), and also Joni Mitchell.

What, you thought the Counting Crows wrote that song? It’s over 40 years old.

It has always been a great song (and I do really like the Counting Crows version). Joni Mitchell has always been a great song writer.

Later, Tori and one of Danielle’s friends were practicing gymnastics moves to “Sweet Home Alabama”.

The original.

Now I didn’t grow up in the South, but as a teenager I did test my stereo speakers on Lynyrd Skynyrd full blast.

So amusing to see my kids listening to the music of my youth.

Leave a Reply

