Forcing My Music

I’ve mentioned how much my girls like our Amazon Echo for music. But tonight they were being bickering sisters and couldn’t agree on a station. And they were arguing over a Demi Lovato station vs. an Ariana Grande station.

I mean, seriously, how different would those stations be?

So I said, “sorry, I choose the station”. They said, “no jazz” (because that’s what I really like). I know they like old Elton John (Crocodile Rock) so I said “Alexa play Elton John station”.

We got old classics. I skipped some marginal songs, but made them listen to anything really classic.

  • Eagles, Hotel California (they grumbled at the beginning, but was ok)
  • James Taylor, Fire and Rain (too slow, but also ok)
  • Crocodile Rock (finally actual Elton John, danced along)
  • Bee-Gees Staying Alive (they totally knew this one and totally danced)

I had to skip some more and exceeded my skip limit, so we switched to the Pandora Elton John station:

  • Elton John, Candle in the Wind (too slow, and me explaining who it was about didn’t help, since they have no idea who Marilyn Monroe is).
  • Journey, Don’t Stop Believing (Danielle knew this one and liked it)
  • Van Morrison, Brown Eyed Girl (they vaguely recognized it, and liked it)

So total bickering turned into an old classics dance fest. Pretty fun.

2 Responses to Forcing My Music

  1. […] mentioned it before, but I really enjoy the Amazon […]

  2. Danny says:

    This is false information. I know who Marilyn Monroe is, it wasn’t Demi Lovato v. Ariana Grande and Tori didn’t dance along to stayin alive. Rude

Leave a Reply

